WATCH: Walk In Coma – ‘Suffer’

A riff-heavy, full on assault on the ear drums, Essex-based metal band Walk In Coma have shared their latest single ‘Suffer’. Full of corrosive vocals, thundering guitar sounds and blistering beats, the track is a cathartic rumination on emotional endurance, and the second single to be lifted from the band’s upcoming EP, HUMAN CONDITION.

Formed of Alex Adlington, Mark Elliott, Tom Case and Nicole Lastauskas, Walk In Coma are influenced by the heavy sounds of SkipKnot, Lamb Of God and Architects. To date, the band have supported bands like Funeral For A Friend and Breed 77 on their UK tour dates, and they released their debut EP, NARRENTURM, back in 2015. Now, the Essex metallers are gearing up to share their forthcoming new EP, which was recorded during the uncertainty of the latter part of the Covid-19 pandemic back in 2021.

Mined from the depths of Walk In Coma’s “hallucinatory nightmares”, new cut ‘Suffer’ is accompanied by a chaotic video, shot by Gallow Wood Media. The frenzied and bizarre visuals are inspired by David Lynch’s dark cinematic imagery and feature the band, who are adorned in pig masks and splattered with blood as they rip through their relentless new single.

Alongside their EP release, Walk In Coma have a string of gigs and festival appearances lined up over the summer, including a slot at grassroots festival Breaking Bands alongside Healthy Junkies and DROWND. You can find full details of their live shows by visiting their website here.

Watch the video for ‘Suffer’ below.

Follow Walk In Coma on bandcamp, Spotify, Twitter, Facebook & Instagram

Photo Credit: Richard Gatecliffe (@1dxrich)

Kate Crudgington

EP: Petty Phase – ‘Petty Phase’

Southend Riot Grrrls Petty Phase have shared their new self-titled EP via Headcheck Records, and it’s eleven minutes of energetic punk sounds designed to get your head thrashing.

On opening track ‘Made To Order’ the band break down the “barbie doll” mold enforced on girls and women in the media. Through ferocious guitar riffs, Alyx’s buzzing bass lines and Jen & Rosie’s defiant dual vocals; the track becomes a cathartic take down of stereotypes, executed with genuine riot grrrl flair. The same can be said for following track ‘The Jesus Touch’ which brims with more of the band’s thrashing riffs and trademark no-nonsense attitude.

The deadly opening riff on penultimate track ‘Y2k’ cranks the volume up another notch, before the band take down double standards in riotous fashion on closing track ‘Different For Girls’. Jen & Rosie’s powerful vocals make for a catchy chorus here, ending the record on just as defiant a note as it started on.

If you’re in to all things riot grrrl – or looking for a modern intro to the vital 90s movement – definitely check out Petty Phase’s new EP.

Follow Petty Phase on Facebook for more updates.

Kate Crudgington

ALBUM: Asylums – ‘Alien Human Emotions’

Released via their own label Cool Thing Records, a strong sense of fun and frustration fuels Southend-based rockers Asylums‘ brand new album, Alien Human Emotions. The band’s second record is a turbulent, tenacious collection of tracks that buzz with enthusiasm and self-awareness.

After the success of their critically-acclaimed debut Killer Brain Waves in 2016, Asylums have embarked on a new aural adventure. If they were presented differently, the tracks on Alien Human Emotions would shrink your heart with sadness, but the band’s riotous delivery makes this record a hopeful, heart-swelling affair.

The album kicks off with ‘Day Release To The Moon’, documenting a grand, but turbulent emotional journey that will “pull us closer to the sun / annihilate everyone,” with Jazz’s manic guitar riffs masking the dark side of vocalist Luke’s pessimistic wish. Henry’s relentless percussion punches through on second track ‘When We Wake Up’, which assaults the senses from start to finish. Luke’s anthemic lyrics invite listeners to take a “front row seat for Armageddon,” which sounds tempting against their back drop of manic guitar noise. ‘Bottle Bank’ follows with more of Jazz’s trademark spiralling riffs and Mike’s thundering bass lines, leaving listeners sweaty and short of breath just three tracks in.

The eponymous ‘Alien Human Emotions’ comprehends emotional black holes via dense bass lines and thoughtful lyrics, before the gentler ‘Millennials’ provides a moment for introspective reflection. Named after a social label that’s doused in negativity, Asylums have reclaimed the term and turned it into a thought provoking, comforting tune.

Just as listeners are on their way back down to earth, the toxic punk blur of ‘Napalm Bubblegum’ blasts them back into the band’s sonic atmosphere. Luke’s visceral Essex intonation and Henry’s savage drumming provide the ultimate punk-infused sound to bounce around your bedroom walls to. ‘Pause’ is an aptly named interlude track – even Asylums need to take a second to catch their breath sometimes.

‘Graveyard Tourism’ is a distraction from “morbid fascination”, whilst the timely ‘Homeowners Guilt’ dissects feelings towards “characterless buildings” and the unfair working-class reality of having to always make sure ends meet. The penultimate ‘Sexual Automation’ starts the gentle descent down to earth, manically resisting the “impulses you can’t castrate.” The rawness of ‘The Company You Keep’ closes the record on an optimistic note – an ode to true love, friendship and a poignant reminder to appreciate the people around you.

Alien in the sense that it blasts you into an sonic universe, but Human in its quest to make sure no listener feels left behind, Asylums’ Alien Human Emotions is an intense, joyful second record that kicks and comforts in equal measure.


Order your copy of Alien Human Emotions here.
Follow Asylums on Facebook for more updates.

Photo Credit: Kana Waiwaiku

Kate Crudgington