EP: Drahla – ‘Third Article’

Fans of Sonic Youth and all things alternative to should invest in the debut EP from Leeds three-piece Drahla. The band have released ‘Third Article’ (Produced by Hookworms’ MJ) through their own label Blank Ad; and it’s a sterling cacophony of noise-rock sounds that’ll have you trapped in a 90s alt-nostalgia spiral.

The fast-paced ‘Form Of Luxury’ opens the EP with its restless percussion and jaded vocals, and you’ll “form a line” in preparation for the track’s breakdown which boasts manic riffs and hefty bass. On second track ‘Silk Spirit’, Luciel Brown’s voice sits comfortably above the delightful drone whilst she sings of “walking in the desert” in Kim Gordon-esque style, as reverb and feedback simultaneously clash and combine to make this the stand-out track on the EP.

The penultimate ‘Circuit’ is a brief spiral of noise that leads in to aggressive closing track ‘New Living Creation’. It’s the perfect conclusion to this short but satisfying series of impressive strung-out sounds. ‘The Third Article’ is available to stream via Spotify or Apple Music, and available to purchase on vinyl via Bandcamp. We recommend you invest in Drahla now.

Follow Drahla on Facebook for more updates.

Kate Crudgington

Track Of The Day: Drahla – ‘Form Of Luxury’

Fans of alternative, hazy post-punk sounds should listen to the latest single from Leeds based band Drahla. The trio have shared new track ‘Form of Luxury’, giving listeners another “captivating insight” into their forthcoming EP, Third Article. 

The single is another swirling, manic offering from band members Luciel, Rob & Mikey. The  trio have shared stages with Parquet Courts, The Cribs, Buzzcocks, Dream Wife and Menace Beach and they’re currently supporting Canada’s METZ on their European tour.

Drahla look set for big things in 2018, so make sure you catch them before they become uncatchable. Listen to ‘Form Of Luxury’ below.

Third Article, the upcoming EP from Drahla, is out 24th November via their Blank Ad label. Follow Drahla on Facebook for more updates.

Kate Crudgington

Track Of The Day: Nasty Little Lonely – ‘Ugly Vitamin’

Bristol Noise Rockers Nasty Little Lonely have released their belting new single ‘Ugly Vitamin’ via Liverpool based label Loner Noise, and it’s an incredible aural assault that seethes with menacing guitar riffs and filthy bass lines.

The band blend elements of industrial music and noise rock to create their dark and heavy sounds, and have supported the likes of The Wytches, Part Chimp, God Damn, Bo Ningen and Lydia Lunch. Recorded and Mixed by Wayne Adams of Death Pedals and Big Lad (formerly Shitwife), ‘Ugly Vitamin’ “bristles with muscular energy and a looming tension”.

Together, guitarist Ben Fisher, bassist Charlie B, and drummer Martin G perform with an intensity that has to be witnessed live in the flesh to be fully appreciated. Check out the new track below and follow the band on Facebook for future gig updates.

Kate Crudgington